Monday , February 18 2019
Home / Goa News Headlines / Carrasco elected Mapusa comunidade president

Carrasco elected Mapusa comunidade president

Mapusa: Michael Carrasco and Dr Shivanand Gauns have been unanimously elected as the President and Attorney of Mapusa Comunidade, respectively, for a three-year period of 2019-2022. The election was held at the office of the comunidade on Sunday. There was a contest for the post of treasurer, but Leonard D’Souza managed to emerge victorious.

Victor De Mello, Babu Naik and Maurice D’Souza were elected as substitutes for president, treasurer and attorney, respectively.

The elections were conducted under the supervision of Franklyn Ferrao and assisted by the clerk of the Comunidade, Ramesh Tulaskar.

It was revealed that 82 members attended the meeting and the names of the candidates for the post of effective and substitute presidents, attorneys and treasurers were read out. Since there was no opposition baring the post of treasurer, the candidates were declared elected unopposed. During the contest of show of hands for the selection of the Treasurer, Leonard D’Souza bagged a count of 75 while Fidelis Carrasco got 7 votes. [H]

About admin

Check Also

Collector issues stop-work order to IPSCDL

Panaji: North Goa district Collector has issued a stop-work order to Imagine Panaji Smart City …