Monday , February 18 2019
Home / Goa News Highlights / Colourful float parade enthralls crowd at Vasco Shigmotsav

Colourful float parade enthralls crowd at Vasco Shigmotsav


The Shigmotsav float parade, romtamel, folk dance and fancy dress competition evoked tremendous response from thousands of people in Vasco on Monday.
The Shigmotsav festivities, organised by Murgao Nagrik Shigmotsav Samitti, in association with Tourism Department, saw large crowds, despite the school examinations
on Monday.
The Swatantra Path which wore a deserted look initially, came to life with the walking race, organised by Murgao Patrakar Lekhak Sangh. Soon after the crowd began pouring along Swatantra Path, which was the path the floats parade would take. The MNSS president, Mr Shekhar Khadapkar and the executive members of the committee offered shrifal to Lord Damodar to commence the Shigmotsav float parade at Shree Damodar temple
in Vasco.
In all 71 troupes including 33 in float category, 9 in romtamel category, 7 in folk dance category and 22 participants in fancy dress category, involving 16 participants in senior category and 6 participants in junior category were the highlight of the day.
Some of the major floats which saw overwhelming response from the crowd were, Dev Indra Ka Vijayotsov; Lankapati Ravnache Kuber Nagarivar Akraman; Shree Ram Laxmanacha Patal Bandivas; Parakrami Shanidev Ravnachya Kaidet and Ram Ravan Yudh.
In romtamel category, Shree Navdurga Gopalkrishna Prasanna, Borim, Shree Gurudev Avade, Borim, Shree Navdurga Shigmotsav Mandal, Ladbai, Madkai and in folk dance competition, Saraswati Kala Mandal, Kurtim, Ponda and Siddhivinayak Mahalasa Kala Sangh, Akar Mardol highlighted the traditional Ghodemodni.
Importantly, the Shivneri Kala Mandal from Madyal, Kolhapur, Maharashtra and Lokpal Kendra Mandal, Rajasthan enthralled the crowd by presenting folk dances of their states.
The Tourism Minister, Mr Dilip Parulekar was the chief guest for the prize distribution function. Mr Narayan Bandekar presided over the function. The Dabolim MLA, Mr Mauvin Godinho, MMC chairperson, Ms Fiola Rego, MNSS president, Mr Shekhar Khadapkar, secretary, Mr Sharad Chopdekar, treasurer, Mr Manesh Arolkar, vice-president, Mr Pratap Gaonkar, GTDC director, Mr Jayant Jadhav, the wife of Vasco MLA, Ms Jennifer Almeida, besides other MNSS committee members were present on the dais. The function was jointly compered by Mr Santosh Khorjuvenkar, Mr Vinayak Ghonge and Mr Prakash Gawas. Mr Khadapkar welcomed the guests and later proposed the vote of thanks. [NT]

About admin

Check Also

Shivaji statue to be installed at Bicholim, opening on Feb 19

Bicholim: The centrally located road circle near Shantadurga High School, in Bicholim will get the …