Home / Sports / HostS DBO Fatorda Triumph

HostS DBO Fatorda Triumph

Fatorda: Hosts Don Bosco Oratory, Fatorda beat Dicarpale Sports Club 3-2 via the tie-breaker to win the 19th Bro Eulalio Vas memorial football tournament organised by Don Bosco Oratory, Fatorda, at Don Bosco ground, Fatorda, on Sunday.

Backed by the vociferous home crowd, Don Bosco Oratory played well within themselves, defending with alacrity and enthusiasm, creating chances and putting enough pressure on the Dicarpale defence

Midway in the opening session both the teams had equal number of scoring chances but their forwards squandered from close range.

Post-resumption, Don Bosco Oratory earned couple of scoring chances but they could not break the rival rear guard. Attacking midfielder Francis Andrade who troubled the rival defence with sporadic raids came close to scoring but his left footed drive missed the mark narrowly.

Dicarpale Sports Club who were desperate in search of the elusive match winner came close when Rayan Furtado’s volley was well blocked by the Don Bosco Oratory goalkeeper.

With time running out, both the teams went all out but defenders stood tall in protecting their citadel .

In the tie-breaker, Don Bosco Oratory showed better nerves and converted through Francis Andrade, Valito Miranda and Nicolau Borges while Rayan Furtado and Venson Figureido found the mark for Dicarpale Sports Club.

Don Bosco Oratory, Fatorda were richer by Rs 50,000 and a trophy while Dicarpale Sports Club had to settle for Rs 40,000 and a trophy.

Town and Country Planning Minister Vijai Sardessai was the chief guest and gave away the prizes in the presence of other dignitaries

Individual awards: First scorer-of-the-final: Francis Andrade (Don Bosco Oratory); Best defender: Valito Miranda (Don Bosco Oratory); Best Midfielder: Joel Colaco (Dicarpale Sports Club); Best forward: Agnelo Colaco (Dicarpale Sports Club); Best goalkeeper: Swizel Pereira (Don Bosco Oratory); Best disciplined team: Raia Sporting Club.

Upcoming player-of-the-tournament: Rahul Fernandes (Don Bosco Oratory); Youngest player-of-the-final: Swizel Pereira (Don Bosco Oratory); Best captain: Donald Rocha (Dicarpale Sports Club); Player-of-the-tournament; Albino Pereira (Parish Youth Nuvem). [H]

About admin

Check Also

Salgaocar FC to face Dempo SC in State final

Vasco: Salgaocar FC emerged winners of the South Goa GFA U-14 League following their 2-0 …