Home / Sports / Trinity Primary School clinch Fr Faustino Memorial trophy

Trinity Primary School clinch Fr Faustino Memorial trophy

Navelim: Trinity Primary School Curtorim blanked Holy Rosary Convent High School Nuvem 3-0 to win Fr Faustino 7th Memorial Trophy, organised by Perpetual Succour Convent High School, Navelim, on Thursday.

Both the sides played attacking football from the word go. Holy Rosary’s Jadon Dias almost scored in the fifth minute but only to see his effort narrowly miss the mark.

At the other end, Trinity Primary School Fitzroy Gomes was denied by the Rosary keeper who came up with a timely save to keep the score line intact.

However, Trinity changed the game plan and scored three quick goals in the span of eight minutes. Vivon opened the scoring in the 12th minute before Aldrige doubled the account in the 15th minute. Fitzry scored the team’s third in the 20th minute to make the issues safe for the winners.

FC Goa defender Seriton Fernandes was the chief guest and gave away the prizes to the winners and runners up in the presence of Siddesh Kesarkar, Presly Pereira, Sr Santana Goes, headmistress of Perpetual Succor Convent High School and other dignitaries and school official.

The winners were awarded Rs 3,000.

The following were the individual prizes: Highest scorer of the tournament: Fitzroy Gomes (Trinity Primary School, Curtorim); Best striker of final: Jadon Dias (Holy Rosary Convent High School, Nuvem); Best goalkeeper of final: Cayden D’Mello (Trinity Primary School, Curtorim); Player of the tournament: Jayden Pinto (Holy Rosary Convent High School, Nuvem).

Speaking during the occasion, Sr Santana thanked all the sponsors including Junior Herald for making the tournament a huge success.

Presly Pereira complimented the school for organising the tournament and said, “grassroots level football can prepare future players with much more zeal and can gain more experience too. Sports and education should go hand in hand.”

Altogether 16 schools from all over Goa participated in this tournament. [H]

About admin

Check Also

Salgaocar FC to face Dempo SC in State final

Vasco: Salgaocar FC emerged winners of the South Goa GFA U-14 League following their 2-0 …